Happiness, Deep-Fried.

October 9, 2008

In the wee hours of the morning, which food do you crave the most? Some friends recently brought me to Sin Hoi Sai Eating House in the Tiong Bahru area of Singapore and introduced me to “salad you tiao,” a Singaporean-spin on the traditional youtiao (油 条) or yaojagwai ( 油炸鬼). It was truly a moment of reckoning, as I have had ravenous post-midnight desires for these little pieces of heaven ever since (If you know me personally, you know I am not even kidding).

Youtiao (油 条) is deep-fried strips of dough typically eaten with porridge. Salad youtiao, a pimped version of the former, is stuffed with either fish cake or squid, tossed into mayonnaise, and seasoned with sesame seeds. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that this has nothing to do with salad, I am convinced the term was there to make you feel better about yourself, after all, this is a heart-attack on a stick. That’s right folks, deep-fried and covered in mayonnaise. How could you go wrong?

It’s Cantonese name, yaojagwai ( 油炸鬼) literally translates to oil-fried devil. No kidding, since a few pieces of these will probably require a good hour in the gym to work off. But I promise you, nothing beats these little pieces of heaven, especially after a heavy night of drinking.

To accompany, I usually order a plate of beef kway teow. Ladies and gentleman, my life is now complete. What about yours?

Sin Hoi Sai Eating House
Blk. 55 Tiong Bahru, #01-59
Tel: (+65) 6223 0180
Hours: All week, 5pm-5am

6 Responses to “Happiness, Deep-Fried.”

  1. ANG3L Says:

    My life isn’t complete……

  2. Jenn Says:

    thanks for making me hungry, jerk.

  3. Bernard Says:

    Pork and preserved egg porridge. I imagine that actually might be difficult to find in Singapore in the middle of the night, but really easy to find in the morning.

  4. Jenny Says:

    I love the smell of you tiao in the morning! I miss China most of all when I want fresh you tiao dipped in a bowl of freshly pressed soya milk for breakfast. Mmm cholesterol heaven!

  5. Adam Says:

    hi — great pictures ! except they’re making me hungry. the wai in yaojagwai wouldn’t happen to be related to lao wai, would it? hope not … i’ll be in singapore the second week in december — will you be around? that would be … dangerous.

  6. hungrydru Says:

    Give a holler before you come, if not in Hong Kong, I should be around!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

